A Personal Evolution into a City Slicker

Text and Photos by Adelle Brodbeck, Ohio Wesleyan ’16 

Keogh_20141016_IMG_0669It has been over a month since I caught sight of my first New York City rat. I don’t think I have ever been so thrilled to be in the presence of a rodent, especially one so rotund and grimy.

By now I no longer experience the same excitement from spotting the infamous rats, however they still serve as a consistent reminder of something much bigger. Currently I am a living component of one of the most sought after places in the world: New York City.

It still catches me off guard sometimes. I forget where I am and I casually stumble upon the Google offices, or a record store jam-packed with original presses of Lou Reed and Devo and I quickly recall that I’m no longer in Kentucky or Ohio.

The city is still revealing itself to me, and I don’t think I will ever totally understand it. Every day I think I discover something new, whether it’s a different flavor of cream cheese from the bagel stores I frequent, a vintage clothing store with 1950’s leather jackets or that maybe that just getting off the train and looking at a map is better than riding for 45 minutes in the wrong direction.

 

Keogh_20141016_IMG_0670I learn small and seemingly useless lessons anytime I walk outside, but I also feel the heavy rhythm of the hustle and bustle and the attitude of all the people who couldn’t imagine life anywhere else and it gives me a new appreciation.

No matter how the rest of this busy semester goes, ultimately everything I do here is nothing I could be doing on my college campus and I wouldn’t trade that for anything.

One thought on “A Personal Evolution into a City Slicker

Leave a Reply

