5 Things I Learned at the MoMA

-Annie Evans, Ball State University ‘16

It was my first time at the Museum of Modern Art in Manhattan, also known as MoMA. The ticket price was a mere $14 for students, which is a steal compared to prices in the city. I went with two of my NYAP peers and was blown away.

Featured image

1. Museum Security Guards have the best stories. I found myself speaking to numerous guards who were warding off the iPhone-frenzied people in a no-photography exhibit, and one told me a story of a woman who traveled all the way from France to see just one painting. There is something truly magical about working in a museum, though I wouldn’t go to the extreme of Night at the Museum!

2. Recognition of your work is by no means instantaneous. This is more specific for media that don’t include some live aspect. Van Gogh only sold one painting during his lifetime!

3. The best way to “MoMA” is with an Art History Buff. As a Theatre Major, I am familiar with some visual art, but I reaped the benefits of accompanying two students who were passionate about visual art and the stories behind the pieces. A painting that I may not have given more than ten seconds of my time became so much more meaningful because I knew the story behind the painting. I learned about lovers spurned and love lost.

4. People light up when they talk about their passions. There is nothing more enriching than watching a person talk about that one thing that gets them fired up. I admire my colleagues here at NYAP because they are open to sharing their passions with everyone.

5. Art (and YOU) are beautiful almost more due to your imperfections. Perfection is boring. As we walked through the Limited-Time Special Henri Matisse Cut-out Exhibit, I would inspect a piece up-close and notice little spots where the scissors caught on the paper — the beautiful part about seeing these little imperfections is that it reminds us that a human created these.

Stay tuned for more blog postings as our Spring 2015 students take on the city!

3 thoughts on “5 Things I Learned at the MoMA

Leave a Reply

