Student Feature: Kyle Lampar

This interview features Theatre Major Kyle Lampar, Kalamazoo College ’17.

Annie Evans: Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Kyle_Lampar NYArts NYAP

Kyle Lampar: My name is Kyle Lampar. I’m a sophomore at Kalamazoo College. I’m pursuing a Theatre Major, Business and Psychology minor with a concentration in Media Studies. When I’m not working on homework, I’m geeking over superheroes, Game of Thrones, and video games.

AE:  How did you get started in theatre?

KL: Theatre’s always been a passion of mine. My oldest memory was being the little drummer boy in a Christmas play when I was five. Since then, it’s just something I’ve always followed and only recently did I feel confident enough to pursue it as a career!

AE: What brought you to New York Arts Program?

KL: I wanted to have an off-campus experience that would not only be an insight into life after college, but also contribute to my overall learning towards my major. What better way to learn about theatre than to work in the heart of the theatre community?

AE: Where is your internship?

KL: I work as a management intern at the Ensemble Studio Theatre on West 52nd Street. I’m basically in charge of ensuring our theatre spaces are clean, making sure Actors’ Equity checks get sent every week, help organize upcoming theatre performances and events and serve as an extra body should any of our productions need someone for run crew or other tech work.

Kyle Lampar in the EST Intern Project Production of "Bless Me Father"

Kyle Lampar in the EST Intern Project Production of “Bless Me Father”

AE: What’s one of the most valuable things you’ve learned in your time with NYAP?

KL: Life’s about networking. I feel that being here for 10 weeks has opened up doors that I couldn’t have opened spending the semester in Kalamazoo. These are people who I’ll be able to keep in touch with and possibly work for in the near future.

AE: What is your favorite thing about living in New York City?

KL: There’s always something going on. It’s the perfect age to live in NYC too. Rush seats for shows are usually no more than $30 unless you’re trying to see the bigger name shows. Of course, if I just don’t feel like seeing a show, there’s always the Midtown Comics on 40th street. It’s like comic Mecca. Probably shouldn’t assess how much I’ve invested in that place.

AE: What is something that has surprised you while being here?

KL: The city doesn’t feel that gross or crime infested as everyone claims it to be. Places in the city are genuinely clean and populated. Working in Hell’s Kitchen, I see all the renovations of turning their reputation around into a more family oriented community.

AE: What advice would you give to students interested in NYAP?

KL: If you are serious in investing in your art as a career, apply. This is the best place to connect with people from all art forms who come from all sorts of lifestyles that are passionately and friendly. That said, should you get accepted, be prepared to know what you want to gain from the experience. Direction is essential to building your success.

AE: If anybody wants to learn more about you, is there a website, blog, or LinkedIn Profile they can go to?

I’m available on Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn. Feel free to connect and chat, I try to respond as soon as possible!

2 thoughts on “Student Feature: Kyle Lampar

Leave a Reply

