My Big Crush on NYC

Text and images by Brytnie Jones

I used to have a big crush on NYC. Its physical features were always so attractive to me. It was so close to D.C., one of my romances. I would often dream of visiting the Lady Liberty, the Empire State building, and my all time favorite Times Square.

I was intrigued by all that the City had to offer and that we both had the same interest in art. We both loved learning about history in museums, going to concerts and enjoying our favorite artist, reading poetry and going to poetry slams, watching talk shows being recorded live, watching plays on broadway, and reading newspapers/magazines or even being the writer of the article. We both loved watching and hearing the people in the subway station share their art with everyone. We both loved walking down the streets of New York and shopping. We loved the hip-hop culture. The similarities between the two of us were unbelievable.

We even had our own love song, New York Empire State of Mind by Jay Z and Alicia Keys. I loved hearing her words…

New York, concrete jungle where dreams are made of
There’s nothin’ you can’t do
Now you’re in New York
These streets will make you feel brand new
The lights will inspire you
Let’s hear it for New York, New York,
New York

I can say that I agree. It’s something about being in NYC that will inspire your creativity and inspire you to accomplish all of your dreams. I’d never trade this experience for the world.

See without my official first date with NYC, I always had a Crush. Now that we’ve met and I can say that I’m familiar with my crush, than what I can tell you is…that it will always remain a love of mine. I picture myself walking away from here with more inspiration, creativity, connections, knowledge, determination, and success than before. I picture myself one step closer to my dreams.

Leave a Reply

