Welcome Fall ’16 Students!

Hello to all of our Fall 2016 NYAP Students! My name is Kelley Foley – I’m your Residence Manager. Before you all arrive in September, I wanted to introduce myself and explain why I’m so excited to have all of you here in NYC.

But first, a bit of background – I’m originally from Metro Detroit, Michigan (don’t be surprised if you hear me refer to it as the Mitten State). I spent my undergrad years at Oakland University, where I received my BA in Art History. In the fall of 2014, I moved to Boston to start my graduate program. I graduated with my MA in Art History and a specialization in the History of Photography in May of 2016. Although I’m not an artist by training, I do have a passion for photography and love making videos. And I’ve spent the past four years working in a lot of cool art spaces and dorms, so being your new RM feels like a perfect fit!

38351_10150217243655508_680488_n

18-year-old me (on the right, next to Elmo) during my second trip to NYC in 2010

I first came to NYC in 2009 and fell in love with the city faster than Usain Bolt can run a relay. After that trip, I made sure to come back at least once every year to explore new parts of town, eat delicious food, and attend artist lectures and comedy shows. I love the city because there are always new things to experience. For example: this weekend I went to Central Park and sang John Lennon’s “Imagine” with a group of strangers in remembrance of the Hiroshima bombings. Yesterday, I ventured to the Lower East Side to try out an ice cream place that visitors rave about.

DSC_0194

One of my favorite city moments: Seeing this view from the top of the Empire State Building on a cloudy night

As your RM, it’s my job to keep the residence in working order and help you find your reasons for loving NYC. We’ll go to performances, visit galleries and museums, and listen to great music. You’ll have the opportunity to hear from writers, artists, musicians – the people who will provide some tools that will help you become successful in your future. And who can forget about your internships? There is no better experience than interning, and we can’t wait to hear all about your placements.

12365978_10156561792555508_8116677200872281014_o

Proof that internships can be fun! Me (on the left) posing with a coworker during a lunch break at the Detroit Institute of Arts in 2014

If you have any questions, concerns, or suggestions for things you’d like to do around the city, please send them my way. I’d be happy to hear from you.

I hope that you all enjoy the last bits of summer, and we’ll see you in September!

Leave a Reply

