Expanding Worlds in New York City

image

Hi all! My name is Jonathan Yee, a senior from Allegheny College in Meadville Pennsylvania participating in the NYAP’s Visual Arts Program. I’m also an RA at the program’s rowhouse which means I’ll be posting blogs here every so often.

It’s been about a week since I arrived in New York City. I keep telling people that the most surprising thing about the city is that it’s much more spacious than I thought. Not only the sidewalks and streets, but the microcosm; these dense populations upon populations of human beings makes me see that the world is a much bigger place than I imagined. Each person walking along carrying their own ideologies, cultures, and walks of life. Just thinking that seems to make the world open up to me.

With an environment as diverse and bustling as NYC, I think it’s imperative that keep worldviews and minds open. In a new environment, it can be easy to stick to what is familiar and safe, fearing what lies beyond usual paths. But I think it would be better for everyone if we expand our worlds! There’s no better time to explore than studying away for a semester. I’m a pretty seasoned traveler and one thing I always wanted to do more of on the trips I took is talk to and meet more people! And the best way to do that (in lieu of talking to the person sitting to the left of you on the bus listening to their audiobook), is to take new opportunities outside of your area of interest!

I think the New York Arts Program will be a great opportunity for all of us to experience the city and meet new people. Taking the step to fly to New York and live there is only the first step, now it’s time to prepare for all the rest!

 

 

Leave a Reply

