Juggling It All

I’m the one who wrote about writer’s block. And, because irony is an oh-so wily mistress, it’s come back to bite me.

Now, for the sake of continuity and sticking to my original argument, I wouldn’t say that I have writer’s block so much as I am “creatively burnt out”.

And before you say anything, I’m going to argue that they’re not synonymous for this reason: I have been writing. I’ve been writing in the weeks and days leading up to this post and now I find myself at a loss. I’ve poured nearly all of my creative energy into the next installment of what will come to be my final project for the NYAP.

Admittedly, I’ve made the classic mistake of burning myself out in one area. I’ve spent so much energy on writing and editing poems that I forgot to leave myself sufficient energy for this. And because I’m a calm, reasonable person, I’m going to let this be a lesson in moderation. (I’m also mentally kicking myself but that’s beside the point.)

Working yourself to exhaustion comes back to hurt you in more ways than one. You may find yourself too exhausted for daily, necessary tasks or other projects if you focus all your energy in one place.

Part of the NYAP, and pretty much everything else in your adult life, is finding a balance of where to exert your energy. It’s a game of shifting your allocation of time and effort based on what your life is asking of you. Effectively juggling the pins of internships, course work or projects, social life, and everything else that life feels the need to throw at you is a necessary part of being here. And for the most part, I feel like I was prepared to do so and have made it happen. Occasionally you falter or drop a pin, but the circus keeps going, nothing goes up in flames, and you pick the pin up and continue your act.

Now I wouldn’t say I’m completely burnt out, as shown by my remaining ability to ramble, which I’ve once again demonstrated for you all to enjoy. But I’m definitely taking this as friendly warning sign from my brain to rethink my current system of time and effort allocation.

 

Written by Ellen Koppy

Leave a Reply

