The Secret Food Stop

   It’s a known fact that New York has some of the best food in the world. It is also a known fact that food in New York can be very expensive. But what if I told you that there is a little known secret that could guarantee you great and cheap food while you’re here?

   The answer is Irish Pubs.

   Ever since I was a little kid I have been eating in Irish pubs. My family is incredibly Irish so it was always a fun night for us when we could go to an Irish restaurant and eat some of the best food in the world. So when I moved to New York this semester I knew where I would be finding myself more often than not for lunch or dinner.

   Not only are the prices incredibly reasonable, but you also have a huge variety of food to choose from. Of course there is what would be considered ‘Irish dishes’ like meat and potato’s, but there is also great choices of salads, soups, sandwiches, etc. And just because the prices are so low don’t assume that the portions are going to be ridiculously small, because that’s quite the opposite. Everything that I, or my friends, have ordered from Irish pubs since we moved here has been cheap and came with a lot of food, usually enough for a day or two of leftovers. There are so many different options of food on Irish pub menus that you could go to the same place every day for a month and get something new each time. Not that I completely recommend that, because we are in New York and there are some other great places to dine at, but I’m trying to make my point here.

   If you move here and end up like me with a crazy work schedule where you get off really late Irish pubs are also a nice relaxing and safe place for you to take a breather by yourself or with friends (unless it’s a Friday or Saturday night when they tend to be filled with people and more often than not – a band, which by the way is also so much fun). There have been countless occasions when I’ve gotten off of work late and on my walk back to our housing I have popped into a random Irish pub for dinner and not once have I felt unsafe with the location or uncomfortable with the other people in the restaurants.

   Irish pubs have great food, great people, great prices, and most importantly they are on basically every street in Manhattan. Though, like I said, there are an infinite number of places you could grab food in New York, I recommend trying out the next random pub you walk by while you’re aimlessly walking around looking for your next meal, I guarantee you won’t regret it.

Written by: Madison Buechler

Photos by: Madison Buechler

Leave a Reply

